











June 1, 2023

The Honorable Maria Cantwell Chair Senate Commerce Committee Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Ted Cruz Ranking Member Senate Commerce Committee Washington, DC 20510

Re: Confirmation of Federal Communications Commission Nominees

Dear Chair Cantwell and Ranking Member Cruz:

We are writing as a collection of trade associations representing a broad cross-section of the innovation economy to urge the Senate Commerce Committee to move expeditiously to confirm President Biden's renomination of Commissioners Brendan Carr and Geoffrey Starks and the President's nomination of Anna Gomez to the Federal Communications Commission (FCC).

Together, our members include established and ascending companies in consumer-facing and business-to-business technologies, software, information and education services, as well as emerging technologies such as virtual reality and artificial intelligence, supporting tens of thousands of jobs and driving U.S. leadership in innovation. Our members rely on a functioning FCC that is fully staffed at the Commissioner level to advance policy issues critical to our ability to help promote a strong economy and maintain our nation's competitiveness.

FCC Commissioners Carr and Starks are proven leaders and dedicated public servants who warrant swift reconfirmations. Likewise, Ms. Gomez is highly qualified for the position of FCC Commissioner. She has extensive experience in technology and telecommunications policy and a long record of seeking bipartisan solutions. She is widely respected for her work in the industry, including when she previously served in positions at the FCC and NTIA, and she possesses the experience, wisdom, and leadership required to make an excellent FCC Commissioner.

We need a fully functioning FCC to advance our goals of bridging the digital divide and connecting every American to affordable, high-speed broadband. Given the upcoming expiration of the sitting Commissioners' terms, and the importance of filling the fifth Commissioner slot that has remained vacant for far too long, we encourage the Committee to hold a joint hearing for the three nominees as quickly as possible and to advance their nominations. We recognize that the Senate has a busy calendar filled with pressing national issues; however, we respectfully urge

you to speed the confirmation process so that our industry has the certainty it needs with an agency that has all five Commissioner slots filled as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Morgan Reed President ACT | The App Association

Gary Shapiro President and CEO Consumer Technology Association

Adam Kovacevich Founder and CEO Chamber of Progress

Linda Moore President and CEO TechNet

Chip Pickering CEO INCOMPAS

Shirley Bloomfield CEO NTCA-The Rural Broadband Association